Perte de données

En quelques mots

On parle de perte de données lorsque les données sont supprimées ou détériorées de manière à en rendre leur accès impossible. Cette situation peut se produire suite à divers événements naturels (catastrophes), techniques (pannes) ou actions humaines (vol avec destruction, destruction volontaire ou involontaire).

On parle d’altération de données quand une partie des données est modifiée sans pour autant rendre ‘accès aux données impossible.

Finalement, on parle de vol de données quand une personne accède à des données auxquelles il n’a normalement pas droit d’accéder, et qu’il les soustrait frauduleusement. Le vol de données peut s’effectuer par une copie, un transfert des données ou par l’impression de ces dernières. Il peut être couplé à des actes de destruction ou d’altération des données.

La perte de données

Pour mieux comprendre ce phénomène et les moyens de recouvrement, il est nécessaire de distinguer  :

La perte de données due à la perte d’accès aux données

Diverses circonstances physiques ou logiques peuvent provoquer la perte d’accès aux données. Dans la majorité des cas, les données sont encore physiquement sauvegardées sur les supports informatiques. Mais dès lors qu’elles ne sont plus accessibles, on parle de perte de données. Les méthodes de récupération se distinguent des méthodes utilisées pour récupérer des données détériorées ou supprimées.

La perte de données due à l’altération de données

Lors de certaines manipulations frauduleuses effectuées par des pirates informatiques sur des serveurs web, on assiste non pas à la destruction ou au vol de données, mais simplement à l’altération de ces dernières. En effet, le «cracker» peut, par exemple, annoncer avoir simplement modifié une donnée quelque part. Dans ce cas, les données authentiques ne sont plus accessibles, car elles ont été altérées. Ce qui équivaut à une perte des données.

La perte de données due à l’altération de données peut aussi être provoquée par des actions volontairement ou involontairement illicites sur des bases de données ou des fichiers. Cette forme de perte de données est généralement difficilement détectable. (Les données existent toujours là, mais elles ne sont incorrectes).

La perte de données par vol

Les vols de données n’entraînent pas nécessairement leur destruction ou altération. Si les données sont copiées, transférées ou imprimées, les originaux restent inchangés. C’est d’ailleurs une des raisons pour lesquelles il est parfois difficile de détecter ce genre de perte.

L’impact d’un vol de données confidentielles (par exemple des secrets de fabrication) peut être nettement supérieur à la simple perte de données. On parle aussi de perte de confidentialité des données.

Perte de données/perte d’équipement par vol

La perte ou le vol d’ordinateurs portables comme de tout support informatique (bande magnétique, disquette, CD ROM - Compact Disk Read Only Memory, ….) entraîne souvent la perte des données sauvegardées sur ces ressources informatiques. En effet, les utilisateurs disposent rarement d’une copie de sauvegarde complète. Le vol ou la perte des supports informatiques engendre aussi un grand risque de perte de confidentialité des données.

La perte de données par destruction volontaire

Lorsque la perte ou l’altération des données n’est pas le résultat d’un phénomène technique, mais bien d’une tentative humaine, il faut faire la différence entre les actions :

  • volontaires malveillantes (piratage d’un site web)
  • volontaires non malveillantes (effacement d’un fichier)
  • volontaires (mauvaise manipulation)

Mesures préventives

En se basant sur l’analyse de cas réels, on peut déterminer les zones directement concernées en cas de perte de données et évaluer les dépenses habituellement liées à ce type de phénomène.

Solution de stockage adaptée aux besoins

Il est important d’adapter la technologie de stockage au degré de sensibilité des données ainsi qu’au type de données (fichiers bureautiques, bases de données).

Afin d’éviter un rapide engorgement de l’infrastructure de stockage et tous les problèmes qui y sont directement liés, il est nécessaire de mettre en place une politique d’archivage des fichiers sur des supports adaptés.

Il est conseillé d’équiper les serveurs de la technologie RAID (Redundant Array of Independent/Inexpensive Disks) qui permet de répartir le stockage des données sur plusieurs disques durs. Lors de la perte éventuelle d’un des disques durs composant le RAID, le système informatique est capable de reconstituer l’information manquante. Il existe différents niveaux de configuration RAID, lesquels font l’objet d’une fiche séparée.

La mise en place d’un réseau filaire de stockage SAN (Storage Area Network) peut également s’avérer utile dans le cas de grosses infrastructures ou de déploiement d’un second site de production ou de repli.

Politiques de sauvegarde/restauration adéquates

Il faut adapter les technologies ainsi que les politiques de sauvegarde et de restauration des données selon le degré de sensibilité, mais aussi selon la nature des données (fichiers bureautiques, bases de données).

Des technologies telles que le «snapshooting», dont le but est de réaliser des copies des modifications de la base de données et ce «à la volée» durant la journée, permettent d’éviter un retour à la situation de la veille, limitant de ce fait la saisie ou le ré-encodage éventuellement nécessaire. Si cette technique onéreuse et complexe est bien adaptée à un type d’utilisation très complexe, elle n’a aucun intérêt dans le cadre de la sauvegarde de données bureautiques habituelles.

La mise en place de procédures connues de tous, respectées et contrôlées, permet d’exploiter au mieux l’infrastructure en place, comme par exemple l’information donnée aux utilisateurs quant aux répertoires à sauvegarder quotidiennement.

Le délai de restauration est malheureusement un impératif sous-estimé. En effet, la plupart des responsables informatiques sont préoccupés par la vitesse de sauvegarde mais ignorent la capacité de restauration. Or, en cas de sinistre, c’est la restauration qui est critique. Une étude détaillée de l’architecture de restauration ainsi que du réseau, validée par une mise à l’épreuve, demeure le meilleur moyen de juger de l’adéquation de la solution avec les besoins.  

Respect des bons usages en matière de salle informatique

La mise en place d’une architecture informatique se doit de répondre à certaines exigences en matière environnementale. Une salle informatique, une salle de connectique, une salle de télécommunication etc., doivent être équipées de manière à assurer aux équipements des conditions optimales de fonctionnement. Cela sous-entend : un circuit électrique de secours ou un UPS (Uninterruptible Power Supply), une climatisation et un filtrage d’air, un contrôle de l’électricité statique, un système spécifique de lutte contre les dégâts des eaux et du feu, et un contrôle d’accès.

Remarque

L’ensemble de ces points est couvert dans une fiche relative à la sécurité physique.

Lieu de sauvegarde

Les supports informatiques, tels que les bandes magnétiques, supports optiques et autres doivent absolument être stockés dans des endroits répondant à leurs exigences en matière de protection contre la poussière, les griffes, l’humidité et autres facteurs pouvant les dégrader.

Remarque

II est conseillé de stocker les supports de sauvegarde dans un coffre-fort, en dehors de la salle informatique voire dans un autre bâtiment.

Gestion des droits des utilisateurs

Pour assurer au maximum l’effacement involontaire de données il y a lieu de limiter au minimum les droits des utilisateurs sur des fichiers et supports critiques.

Gestion proactive du parc informatique

La majorité des pannes relatives au fonctionnement des équipements informatiques ont des signes « avant-coureurs ». La plupart des équipements sont fournis avec un logiciel qui analyse ces signes et avertit l’utilisateur en cas de doute. Ces logiciels existent tant au niveau des serveurs que des ordinateurs (postes de travail) et ordinateurs portables. Il est conseillé de laisser agir ce logiciel et de tenir compte des ses avertissements.

Formation des utilisateurs

Une solution efficace pour éviter les maladresses consiste à former les utilisateurs à une manipulation adéquate de la machine et de ses périphériques, ainsi qu’à la gestion des données et des répertoires.

Mesures curatives

Sont regroupées sous ce point toutes les mesures de récupération après un sinistre :

Logiciels ou sociétés de récupération

Il existe de nombreux logiciels capables de récupérer des données perdues ou effacées sur différents supports. Ces logiciels ne sont pas forcément coûteux mais leur usage demande une certaine maîtrise du sujet. Il est donc fortement conseillé de faire appel à des entreprises spécialisées dans ce domaine. En revanche exigez un service qui n’est payant que quand les données sont récupérables.

Remarque

Les personnes sensibles à la sécurité sont interpellées par le fait que l’on puisse récupérer des fichiers effacés. Il est toujours possible de rendre ce type de récupération inopérant, et il est important d’y prêter attention lors de reventes d’équipements informatiques. (voir mise au rebut)

CASES.LU

Glossary

  1. ▹ Antivirus
  2. ▹ Assets
  3. ▹ Authentication
  4. ▹ Availability
  5. ▹ Basic criteria for risk analysis
  6. ▹ Computer Hacks
  7. ▹ Confidentiality
  8. ▹ Control
  9. ▹ Cryptography
  10. ▹ Cybercrime
  11. ▹ Cybercriminals
  12. ▹ DRP – Disaster Recovery Plan
  13. ▹ Data backups
  14. ▹ Data loss
  15. ▹ Defacement
  16. ▹ Disinfect machine with a live CD
  17. ▹ Disposal
  18. ▹ Email
  19. ▹ Firewall
  20. ▹ Human error
  21. ▹ IDS/IPS
  22. ▹ Image rights
  23. ▹ Impact
  24. ▹ Integrity
  25. ▹ Internet and copyright
  26. ▹ Legal Aspects
  27. ▹ LuxTrust
  28. ▹ Malicious Codes
  29. ▹ Malicious websites
  30. ▹ Network segmentation
  31. ▹ Password
  32. ▹ Patches
  33. ▹ Phishing
  34. ▹ Physical faults
  35. ▹ Securing a fixed workstation
  36. ▹ Physical theft
  37. ▹ Recommendations for securing a file server
  38. ▹ Recommendations to secure a server connected to Internet
  39. ▹ Recommendations to secure a Web server
  40. ▹ Removable devices
  41. ▹ Risk processing
  42. ▹ Spam – unwanted emails
  43. ▹ SSL/TLS – encryption technologies on the web
  44. ▹ Update softwares with Secunia PSI
  45. ▹ Security Charter
  46. ▹ Social engineering
  47. ▹ Threat
  48. ▹ Virtual Private Networks (VPNs)
  49. ▹ Vulnerabilities
  50. ▹ Web of Trust - WOT
  51. ▹ Web filter – Proxy
  52. ▹ Why is it important to protect your computer?

Data loss

In brief

We talk about loss of data when data is deleted or deteriorated in such a way as to make accessing it impossible. This situation may arise following various natural events (catastrophes), technical events (faults) or human actions (theft with destruction, or deliberate or accidental destruction).

We talk about corruption of data when part of the data has been modified, but access to the data itself has not been prevented.

Finally, we talk about data theft when a person accesses data which they ordinarily have no right to access, and which they extract fraudulently. Data theft can take place by copying or transferring data, or by printing it out. It may be accompanied by the destruction or corruption of the data.

Loss of data

To better understand this phenomenon and the methods of recovery, it is important to distinguish between:

Loss of data due to loss of access to data

Various physical and logical circumstances may cause a loss of access to data. In the majority of cases, the data is still physically stored on the IT devices. But once they are no longer accessible, we talk about a loss of data. The recovery methods are different from those used to recover damaged or deleted data.

Loss of data due to corruption of data

During certain fraudulent manipulations carried out by computer hackers on web servers, we see neither the destruction nor the theft of the data, but merely its corruption. The “cracker” can, for example, claim to have simply modified one data value somewhere. In this case, the authentic data is no longer accessible because it has been corrupted. This is equivalent to a loss of data.

Loss of data due to the corruption of data may also be caused by intentional or accidental illicit actions carried out on databases or files. This type of loss of data is usually more difficult to detect. (The data is still there, but it is incorrect.)

Loss of data due to theft

Data theft does not necessarily result in its destruction or corruption. If the data is copied, transferred or printed, the originals remain unchanged. This is, moreover, one of the reasons why it is sometimes difficult to detect this type of loss.

The impact of confidential data theft (trade secrets, for example) can be significantly greater than a simple loss of data. We also talk about the loss of data confidentiality.

Loss of data/loss of equipment due to theft

The loss or theft of laptop computers or any other IT device (cassette tape, floppy disk, CD-ROM –Compact Disk Read Only Memory, etc.) often results in the loss of data stored on these computer resources. Users rarely dispose of a saved copy entirely. The theft or loss of IT devices also runs a large risk of loss of data confidentiality.

Loss of data due to intentional destruction

When the loss or corruption of data is not the result of a technical phenomenon, but a human attempt, it is important to distinguish between the following actions:

  • malicious intentional (website hacking)
  • non-malicious intentional (deleting a file)
  • intentional (mishandling)

Preventative measures

Based on the analysis of actual cases, we can determine the areas directly affected by loss of data and assess the costs usually associated with this type of phenomenon.

Storage solution suitable for requirements

It is important to adapt the storage technology to the degree of data sensitivity, as well as the type of data (office files, databases).

In order to avoid the storage infrastructure becoming quickly saturated and all the associated problems, it is necessary to implement a file archiving policy on suitable devices.

It is advisable to equip servers with RAID (Redundant Array of Independent/Inexpensive Disks) technology which distributes the storage of data over several hard drives. If one of the RAID hard drives is lost, the IT system is able to reconstruct the missing data. There are different levels of RAID configurations, which are discussed in a separate sheet.

The implementation of a SAN (Storage Area Network) cabled storage network may also prove useful for large infrastructures or the deployment of a second production or backup site.

Adequate backup/restoration policies

Both the technologies and the backup and restoration policies must be adapted depending on the degree of sensitivity, as well as the nature of the data (office files, databases).

Technologies such as “snap shooting”, of which the aim is to create copies of changes to the database “on the go” during the day, prevent a return to the previous day’s situation and, in doing so, limit the need for any entry or recoding. This onerous and complex technology might be well-suited to a very complex type of use, but it is not necessary for the backup of normal office data.

The implementation of procedures known by everyone, respected and controlled, makes best use of the infrastructure in place, e.g. information given to users regarding the directories to be backed up on a daily basis.

The restoration time is, unfortunately, an underestimated necessity. The majority of IT managers are concerned with how long the backup takes, but are unaware of the restoration capabilities. However, in the event of a disaster, restoration is the critical element. A detailed look at the restoration and network architecture, confirmed by testing it, is still the best way to judge how well a solution meets the requirements.  

Respect of correct usage in the IT room

The implementation of an IT architecture must meet certain environmental requirements. An IT room, a connectivity room, a telecommunications room, etc. must be fitted out in such a way as to ensure the equipment is operating under optimal conditions. This means: an emergency electrical supply or a UPS (Uninterruptible Power Supply), air conditioning and air filtering, static electricity control, a specific system to prevent water and file damage, and controlled access.

Comments

All of these points are covered in a fact sheet on physical security.

Backup location

IT devices, such as cassette tapes, optical media and others must imperatively be stored in places that meet their requirements in terms of protection against dust, scratches, humidity and other factors that may cause them to deteriorate.

Comments

It is advisable to store backup devices inside a safe, outside of the IT room or even in another building entirely.

User rights management

To have the best chance of preventing accidental data deletion, there is the option of limiting user rights on files and critical devices as much as possible.

Proactive management of the IT fleet

The majority of faults relating to the operation of IT equipment are preceded by warning signs. Most equipment comes supplied with software that analyses these signs and alerts the user in case of any issues. This software exists at both server level and on desktop computers (workstations) and laptops. It is advisable to let this software run and to pay attention to its warnings.

User training

An effective solution to avoid mishandling is to train users in how to use their computer and its peripherals correctly, as well as in data and directory management.

Curative measures

In this section, you will find all recovery measures to be taken after a disaster:

Recovery software or companies

There are a number of software programs that can recover lost or deleted data from a number of devices. This software is not necessarily expensive, but it does require a certain amount of expertise to use. It is therefore strongly recommended that you contact companies that specialise in this domain. However, you should request a service where payment is only made if the data can be recovered.

Comments

Security-conscious people are reminded that it is possible to recover deleted files. Making this sort of recovery impossible is always an option, and it is important to pay attention during the resale of IT equipment. (see disposal)

Table of Contents